top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJeff Chalmers

And so it starts....

Updated: Mar 9, 2021

Growing up, my brother was the fisherman of the family. I had only ever cast a spin rod and seldom caught anything. Fishing seemed tiresome and boring. I was drawn to the mountains and the adventure of high places; skiing, climbing, hiking. Sitting and watching a bobber was not my idea of fun!


In 2007, I bought my first fly rod and on the first trip out, caught a fish. What a difference the elegance of casting was. It took concentration, finesse and the meditative rhythm of casting took the stress of my life and sent it flowing far away with the current.

As many of you can appreciate, that first rod (a two piece Lefty Kreh Signature Series from TFO) led to a quiver of carbon, which in turn led to boxes of flies and the interest and desire to begin tying my own. Then came the idea of building fly boxes and this year, my own guide nets. What started out as a hobby and gifts for friends garnered a little attention and so I’ve decided to offer custom nets made to order. This site is an effort, in part, to provide this product out to a wider audience.

My long-term interest is to pursue fly fishing and woodworking as a way to unwind. On the horizon in the next few months I hope to start building a drift boat. I also want to begin to make a planing form to make a bamboo rod. The end goal; catch a Bow River Brown on a fly that I've tied, with my home-made bamboo rod, landed with a handcrafted net from my custom-made drift boat.

Thanks for reading and I hope you subscribe to follow the adventure. Also, please connect with me to share your own fly fishing adventures.


Jeff

65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page